Arcadian landscapes, legendary figures, dwarves and nymphs – anyone entering the gallery building on Prinzregentenstrasse is immersed in a very special imagery. The paintings collected by the poet, translator and art collector Adolf Friedrich Graf von Schack over three decades starting in the middle of the nineteenth century are here on display: works by German-speaking artists of his own time; many of them young and unknown at the time, such as Arnold Böcklin, Anselm Feuerbach or Franz Lenbach. As a completely preserved collector's museum, it offers an insight of rare unity into the intellectual world of this era.
The Sammlung Schack (Schack Collection) was initially located in the count’s own palace in Brienner Strasse and has been open to the public since 1865. After the death of the collector, the collection was handed over to Emperor Wilhelm II (1859-1941), who had a gallery by Max Littmann built on Prinzregentenstraße (1862-1931) in accordance with designs by Adolf von Hildebrand (1847-1921). Since 1939, the Sammlung Schack has been part of the Bayerische Staatsgemäldesammlungen (Bavarian State Paintings Collections).
The Sammlung Schack is affiliated to the Bayerische Staatsgemäldesammlungen.