Facebook

Contact

Staatliche Bibliothek Neuburg an der Donau
Karlsplatz A 17
86633 Neuburg an der Donau

Postal Address:
P.O. Box 17 69
86622 Neuburg an der Donau

Telephone: +49 (0)8431/9106
Fax: +49 (0)8431/9116
E-mail: StaBi@neusob.de

Map

Links

The Staatliche Bibliothek Neuburg an der Donau

During the course of secularisation, numerous Provinzialbibliotheken (provincial libraries) were founded in Bavaria, for example on 28 April 1803 the then Provinzialbibliothek (today: Staatliche Bibliothek/State Library) as central library for education and administration. The book holdings came for the greatest part from the secularised monasteries of Kaisheim, Obermedlingen, Maria Mödingen etc. as well as from the Jesuitenkolleg (Jesuit college) Neuburg. They were complemented by collections from the former Neuburg Hofbibliothek (court library).

The library owns c.35,000 volumes up to a date of publication of 1900, among which are held 554 incunabula (prints up to the year 1500) in 435 volumes and, as valuable special collection the library of the Augsburg humanist Hieronymus Wolf (1516–1580) with 269 prints in 648 volumes.

The entire stock of library collections is property of the Freistaat Bayern (free state of Bavaria); the building itself belongs to the city of Neuburg.

During the Romanesque period, in 1310, the current library location was documented for the first time, when the Martinskapelle (chapel of Saint Martin) was built. From 1644, the Martinskapelle became the seat of the "Bruderschaft zur schmerzhaften Mutter Gottes unterm Kreuz" (confraternity dedicated to the mater dolorosa under the cross). In the same location the present building was created in accordance with plans by Franz Moritz von Loew in 1730/31.

After the confraternity vacated the building for the newly founded library, in 1804 the valuable library stacks from the secularised Cistercian monastery Kaisheim were mounted in the first-floor prayer hall.

The Staatliche Bibliothek Neuburg an der Donau (SBND; State Library of Neuburg upon the Danube) is an integral part of the scholarly library system within the regional state libraries in Bavaria. Its main tasks include the provision of information and literature to the city and region. Scholars, students and pupils at sixth-form colleges as well as all citizens use the library, whenever there is need to gain information or improve one's education for professional, private and training purposes.

As Regionalbibliothek (regional library) for the administrative district Neuburg-Schrobenhausen the SBND collects all those media with a connection to the region. As scholarly library, the SBND is part of the cultural life of city and region. It supports its regional users in their scholarly requirements. By collaboration with several institutions in the city and the administrative district, the library's performance is improved.

The Staatliche Bibliothek Neuburg an der Donau is subordinate to The Bayerische Staatsbibliothek (Bavarian State Library).

Collections owned by the Staatliche Bibliothek Neuburg an der Donau available on bavarikon

Facebook

Kontakt

Staatliche Bibliothek Neuburg an der Donau
Karlsplatz A 17
86633 Neuburg an der Donau

Briefanschrift:
Postfach 17 69
86622 Neuburg an der Donau

Telefon: +49 (0)8431/9106
Fax: +49 (0)8431/9116
E-Mail: StaBi@neusob.de

Karte

Links

Staatliche Bibliothek Neuburg an der Donau

Im Zuge der Säkularisation wurden in Bayern zahlreiche Provinzialbibliotheken gegründet, so auch am 28. April 1803 die damalige Provinzialbibliothek (heute: Staatliche Bibliothek) als zentrale Bibliothek für Schulen und Verwaltung. Die Buchbestände stammen größtenteils aus den säkularisierten Klöstern Kaisheim, Obermedlingen, Maria Mödingen u.a. sowie aus dem Jesuitenkolleg Neuburg. Hinzu kamen Bestände der ehemaligen Neuburger Hofbibliothek.

Die Bibliothek besitzt ca. 35.000 Bände bis zum Erscheinungsjahr 1900, darunter 554 Inkunabeln (Drucke bis 1500) in 435 Bänden und als kostbaren Sonderbestand die Bibliothek des Augsburger Humanisten Hieronymus Wolf (1516 - 1580) mit 1.269 Drucken in 648 Bänden.

Der gesamte Bestand an bibliothekarischem Sammelgut sowie die Regaleinrichtung ist Eigentum des Freistaates Bayern; das Gebäude selbst befindet sich im Eigentum der Stadt Neuburg.

Dort, wo sich heute die Bibliothek befindet, wurde in romanischer Zeit die 1310 erstmals urkundlich erwähnte St.-Martinskapelle erbaut. Seit dem Jahre 1644 war die Martinskapelle Sitz der “Bruderschaft zur schmerzhaften Mutter Gottes unterm Kreuz”. An gleicher Stelle entstand in den Jahren 1730/31 nach Plänen von Franz Moritz von Loew der heutige Bau.

Nachdem die Bruderschaft das Gebäude für die neu gegründete Bibliothek räumen musste, wurden im Jahre 1804 in den im Obergeschoss befindlichen Betsaal die wertvollen Bibliotheksregale des säkularisierten Zisterzienserklosters Kaisheim eingebaut.

Die Staatliche Bibliothek Neuburg an der Donau (SBND) ist im Kreis der regionalen Staatlichen Bibliotheken integraler Teil des wissenschaftlichen Bibliothekswesens in Bayern. Zu ihren Kernaufgaben gehört die Informations- und Literaturversorgung von Stadt und Region. Nutzer sind neben Wissenschaftlern, Studenten und Oberstufenschülern alle Bürger, die sich beruflich, privat oder zu Ausbildungszwecken informieren und fortbilden möchten.

Als Regionalbibliothek für den Landkreis Neuburg-Schrobenhausen sammelt die SBND alle Medien, die in Bezug zur Region stehen. Als wissenschaftliche Bibliothek ist die SBND Teil des kulturellen Lebens in Stadt und Region. Sie unterstützt ihre Benutzerinnen und Benutzer aus der Region in ihrem wissenschaftlichen Literaturbedarf. Durch Kooperation mit mehreren Einrichtungen in Stadt und Landkreis wird die Leistungsfähigkeit der Bibliothek verstärkt.

Inhalte der Staatlichen Bibliothek Neuburg an der Donau in bavarikon