Facebook

Contact

HVB Stiftung Geldscheinsammlung
c/o Giesecke+Devrient GmbH
Prinzregentenstraße 159
81677 München

Telephone: +49 (0)89/41191694
E-mail: info@geldscheinsammlung.de

Map

Links

The HVB Stiftung Geldscheinsammlung

With over 300,000 bank notes, the HVB Stiftung Geldscheinsammlung (HVB foundation: collections of bank notes) belongs to the most important collections of its kind in the world. The general collection contains paper money from every country and of all times. As a collection "in progress", it is continuously updated, i.e. any new issues worldwide are routinely acquired for the collection. It is the ambition and the aim to be able to document the entire development in the field of paper money.

History

Today's Geldscheinsammlung goes back to the collection of Albert Pick (1922–2015). In 1930, the eight-year-old Albert Pick discovered his passion for collecting German emergency currency. This passion soon encompassed all fields of paper currency. Finally, during the 1960s, his private collection arrived at a scale of more than 180,000 bills. In 1964, the Bayerische Hypotheken- und Wechsel-Bank, München (Bavarian Mortgage and Exchange Bank, Munich) took over this collection and, in turn, employed Albert Pick as curator.

In his role as curator of the collection, Albert Pick became very active. The bank vouchsafed a yearly budget, with which to increase the collection even further. He also started to write books and catalogues about his field of collecting. In 1964, he commenced his publications with a standard work that has retained its validity to this day. Entitled Papiergeld (Paper Money), it offered for the first time a historical survey of this special area of expertise. The publication that will forever remain linked to Pick's name, is the Standard Catalog of World Paper Money of 1975, which has since been republished in many editions. In this catalogue, every money bill ever issued received its so-called "Pick-Nummer" (Pick number), i.e. for every country the bank notes put in circulation were numbered in the order of their being issued. By the combination "country/P-number" every bank note circulated worldwide bears a valid signature.

Even after Albert Pick's retirement in 1985, the collection continued to be looked after and expanded. In 2003, the HypoVereinsbank established a foundation entitled "HVB Stiftung Geldscheinsammlung". It is the declared aim of the foundation to preserve and develop this collection, to analyse it scientifically and to make it available to the public. The Geldscheinsammlung has been listed since 2010 in the national register of cultural heritage.

Tasks and Holdings

The collection is actively promoted by means of temporary exhibitions in collaboration with diverse partners. In addition to the exhibitions, numerous essays, articles and dedicated publications deal with the topic of paper money. The HVB Stiftung Geldscheinsammlung as a centre of documentation for the history of bank notes is available to scholars and other interested parties.

As general collection, it contains the historical issues of bank notes from all countries and periods, starting with Chinese bills of the Ming-dynasty dated to the fourteenth century up to the bank notes issued today worldwide. The main inventory comprises the paper money put into circulation worldwide by states, governments and licensed banks as well as the emergency money, floated in times of crisis when the national supply with money no longer functions. Among the most substantial is the stock of the German, Austrian, Russian and Netherlandish emergency money. Over the course of time, many special interest collections have been integrated.

The inventory includes for example parts of the collections of King Farouk I of Egypt (1920–1965). The very rare bills of the Netherlandish East India Company are present as well. In addition, there is a large collection of Japanese Hansatsu bills and the famous Kardakoff collection of Russian emergency money. Among the rare and valuable collectibles are also Rabaul notes from German New Guinea.

The stock is complemented by adjacent areas such as, for example, stamp money, POW camp money or regional currency. Next to paper bills there exist smallish collections of objects bearing currency symbols made from other materials such as cloth, leather or wood.

Collections owned by the HVB Stiftung Geldscheinsammlung available on bavarikon

Exhibitions of the HVB Stiftung Geldscheinsammlung available on bavarikon

Facebook

Kontakt

HVB Stiftung Geldscheinsammlung
c/o Giesecke & Devrient GmbH
Prinzregentenstraße 159
81677 München

Telefon: +49 (0)89/41191694
E-Mail: info@geldscheinsammlung.de

Karte

Links

HVB Stiftung Geldscheinsammlung

Mit über 300.000 Geldscheinen zählt die HVB Stiftung Geldscheinsammlung zu den bedeutendsten Sammlungen dieser Art weltweit. Sie enthält als Generalsammlung Papiergeld aus allen Ländern und Zeiten. Als "lebende" Sammlung wird sie kontinuierlich ergänzt, d. h. alle Neuerscheinungen weltweit werden laufend für die Sammlung angekauft. Anspruch und Ziel ist es, die gesamte Entwicklung im Bereich Papiergeld zu dokumentieren.

Geschichte

Der Kern der heutigen Geldscheinsammlung geht zurück auf die Sammlung Albert Picks (1922-2015). Im Jahr 1930 entdeckte der damals achtjährige Albert Pick seine Sammelleidenschaft für deutsche Notgeldscheine. Diese Passion weitete sich bald auf alle Gebiete des Papiergeldes aus. Schließlich erreichte die private Sammlung in den 1960er Jahren einen Umfang von über 180.000 Scheinen. Die Bayerische Hypotheken- und Wechsel-Bank, München übernahm 1964 diese Sammlung und stellte im Gegenzug Albert Pick als Kurator an.

Als Kurator der Sammlung entfaltete Albert Pick eine rege Tätigkeit. Die Bank gewährte ihm einen jährlichen Etat, mit dem er die Sammlung weiter ausbauen konnte. Daneben begann er, Bücher und Kataloge über sein Sammelgebiet zu schreiben. Seine publizistische Tätigkeit begann 1964 mit einem bis heute gültigen Standardwerk mit dem Titel "Papiergeld", das erstmals einen historischen Überblick über dieses Fachgebiet bot. Das Werk aber, das immer mit dem Namen Pick verbunden sein wird, ist der 1975 erstmals und seitdem in vielen Auflagen erschienene "Standard Catalog of World Paper Money". In diesem Katalog erhielt jeder jemals edierte Geldschein eine sog. "Pick-Nummer", d. h. für jedes Land wurden die in Umlauf gebrachten Geldscheine nach der Reihenfolge ihrer Ausgabe durchnummeriert. Mit der Kombination "Land/P-Nr." hat jeder weltweit erschienene Geldschein eine gültige Signatur.

Auch nach dem Ausscheiden Albert Picks im Jahr 1985 wurde die Sammlung weiter gepflegt und ausgebaut. Die HypoVereinsbank errichtete 2003 eine Stiftung mit dem Namen "HVB Stiftung Geldscheinsammlung". Im Stiftungszweck sind die Erhaltung und Weiterentwicklung dieser Sammlung, ihre wissenschaftliche Bearbeitung und die Verfügbarmachung für die Öffentlichkeit niedergelegt. Die Geldscheinsammlung ist auch seit 2010 in das Verzeichnis national wertvollen Kulturguts eingetragen.

Aufgaben und Bestände

Mit wechselnden Ausstellungen bei verschiedenen Kooperationspartnern wird eine rege Öffentlichkeitsarbeit betrieben. Zusätzlich zu den Ausstellungen erscheinen zahlreiche Aufsätze, Artikel und Einzelveröffentlichungen zum Thema Papiergeld. Die HVB Stiftung Geldscheinsammlung steht als Dokumentationszentrum der Papiergeldgeschichte für Forscher und Interessierte zur Verfügung.

Sie enthält als Generalsammlung die historischen Papiergeldemissionen aus allen Ländern und Zeiten, angefangen bei chinesischen Scheinen der Ming-Zeit aus dem 14. Jahrhundert bis zu den heute emittierten Banknoten weltweit. Hauptbestände sind das von Staaten, Regierungen und konzessionierten Banken ausgegebene Weltpapiergeld und das Notgeld, das in Krisenzeiten zirkuliert, sobald die staatliche Geldversorgung nicht mehr funktioniert. Besonders umfangreich sind die Bestände des deutschen, österreichischen, russischen und niederländischen Notgelds. Zahlreiche Spezialsammlungen sind im Laufe der Zeit integriert worden.

So enthalten die Bestände Teile der Sammlung des Königs Faruk I. von Ägypten (1920-1965). Auch die äußerst seltenen Geldscheine der Niederländischen Ostindien-Kompagnie sind vorhanden. Hinzu kommt noch eine große Sammlung japanischer Hansatsu-Scheine. Zu erwähnen ist zudem die berühmte Kardakoff-Sammlung russischen Notgeldes. Weitere seltene und wertvolle Exemplare sind die Rabaul-Noten aus Deutsch-Neuguinea.

Die Bestände werden ergänzt durch Nebengebiete wie z. B. Briefmarkengeld, Kriegsgefangenenlagergeld oder Regio-Geld. Neben dem Papiergeld gibt es kleinere Bestände mit Geldzeichen, die aus einem anderen Material bestehen, z. B. Stoffgeld, Ledergeld oder Holzgeld.

Sammlungen der HVB Stiftung Geldscheinsammlung in bavarikon