Facebook

Contact

Deutsches Theatermuseum
Galeriestraße 4a
80539 München

Telephone: +49 (089)/210691-0
E-mail: info@deutschestheatermuseum.de

Map

Links

The Deutsches Theatermuseum

Actress Clara Ziegler (1844-1909) founded the collections of the Deutsches Theatermuseum (German Theatre Museum) in 1909, when she donated her villa near the Englische Garten in Munich, her considerable self-made fortune and her own collection for the institution of a theatre museum. The museum was inaugurated on 24 June 1910. While the villa was bombed out in 1944, c.90% of the collections had fortunately been brought to safety in time. Losses were mainly reported for the collection of posters and reviews. In 1953, the Clara-Ziegler-Stiftung was able to move into the Galerietrakt (gallery wing) of the Churfürstliche Galerie (Electoral Gallery) near the Munich Hofgarten (court gardens), built in 1780/1781, where it eventually gained the status of an autonomous public museum in 1979.

The Deutsche Theatermuseum has the task to preserve theatrical/scenic memory through its collections, which are of considerable international importance. Beyond the important tasks of collecting, preserving and analysing, the work of the museum also consists in the dissemination of information about the preserved material to the widest possible audience by way of exhibitions and publications.

The collections, which are stored on the premises of the museum on the Galeriestraße in Munich as well as in a separate warehouse, include nearly everything that serves for documenting a theatre performance or for its preparation. The collections comprise c.250,000 graphic sheets, c.500,000 autographs and c.4.3 million theatre photographs.

The collection’s focus is not exclusively on Munich but refers on Germany as a whole. The documentation, however, also traces the European connections of the theatre, for example during the age of Baroque. In addition, the Deutsche Theatermuseum also owns a large number of original graphic works. The most valuable collections of the library date back to the Renaissance era. In addition, the Theatermuseum also preserves the most substantial collection of theatre photographs worldwide by which the genre’s origins are documented as well.

Additions to the collections focus on the completion of valuable historical holdings of the museum as well as on the documentation of contemporary theatre.

Collections owned by the Deutsche Theatermuseum available on bavarikon

Facebook

Kontakt

Deutsches Theatermuseum
Galeriestraße 4a
80539 München

Telefon: +49 (0)89/210691-0
E-Mail: info@deutschestheatermuseum.de

Karte

Links

Deutsches Theatermuseum

Die Sammlung des Deutschen Theatermuseums begründete die Schauspielerin Clara Ziegler (1844-1909), die 1909 ihre Villa am Englischen Garten in München, ihr beträchtliches, selbst erspieltes Vermögen und ihre eigene Sammlung zur Einrichtung eines Theatermuseums stiftete. Das Museum wurde am 24.6.1910 eröffnet. 1944 wurde die Villa ausgebombt, doch ca. 90% der Sammlungsbestände waren zum Glück ausgelagert. Verluste waren vor allem im Bestand der Plakate und Kritiken zu verzeichnen. 1953 konnte die Clara-Ziegler-Stiftung in den Galerietrakt der 1780/1781 erbauten Churfürstlichen Galerie am Münchner Hofgarten einziehen und erhielt dort 1979 den Status eines selbständigen staatlichen Museums.

Das Deutsche Theatermuseum stellt sich die Aufgabe, das theatrale Gedächtnis sammelnd zu bewahren. Seine Bestände sind von großer internationaler Bedeutung. Neben den wichtigen Aufgaben des Sammelns, Bewahrens und Erschließens besteht die Museumsarbeit auch darin, das gehütete Material einer möglichst breiten Öffentlichkeit in Ausstellungen und Publikationen näherzubringen.

Die in den Räumlichkeiten des Museums in der Münchener Galeriestraße sowie in einem separaten Depotgebäude gelagerten Sammlungsbestände umfassen nahezu alles, was eine Theateraufführung dokumentiert oder zu deren Vorbereitung diente. Der Bestand umfasst ca. 250.000 grafische Blätter, ca. 500.000 Autographen und ca. 4,3 Millionen Theaterfotografien.

Die Sammlung bezieht sich nicht ausschließlich auf München, sondern ist vielmehr auf ganz Deutschland fokussiert. Dokumentiert sind darüber hinaus auch die europaweiten Verflechtungen des Theaters, wie etwa in der Zeit des Barock. Dazu besitzt das Deutsche Theatermuseum ein großes Konvolut an Originalgrafiken. Die wertvollsten Bestände der Bibliothek reichen zurück bis in die Renaissancezeit. Das Theatermuseum verwahrt darüber hinaus die weltweit umfangreichste Sammlung an Theaterfotografien, in der auch deren Anfänge dokumentiert werden.

Die Erweiterung der Sammlungsbestände ist sowohl darauf ausgerichtet, wertvolle historische Bestände zu vervollständigen als auch zeitgenössisches Theater zu dokumentieren.

Inhalte des Deutschen Theatermuseums in bavarikon