Facebook

Contact

Universitätsbibliothek der LMU München
Geschwister-Scholl-Platz 1
80539 München

Telephone: +49 (0)89/2180-2429
E-mail: information@ub.uni-muenchen.de

Map

Links

The Universitätsbibliothek der LMU München

The Universitätsbibliothek München (University Library of the Ludwig Maximilian University, Munich) is the central media and information supplier of the Ludwig Maximilian University. Its holdings of almost five million volumes is one of the largest of the university library systems in Germany. The Universitätsbibliothek München comprises also over 3,300 manuscripts, 3,600 incunabula, over 180 decedents' estates, numerous special collections and c.475,000 prints, published between 1501 and 1900, and thus a highly notable historical book inventory, the second largest in the free state of Bavaria.

Its origins as a late mediaeval library foundation were in Ingolstadt, where the library was founded in 1473 and remained located for three centuries until Elector Maximilian IV Joseph moved the university to Landshut in 1800. The masses of books available during the secularisation of 1802/1803 made the Landshut university library become – after Göttingen and Breslau – the third largest in Germany. In 1826, the library moved from Landshut to the Bavarian capital and, in 1840, it was accommodated on the second floor of the famous university building, designed by Friedrich von Gärtner. The dynamic development of the university library, accompanied by a continuous increase of its inventory and by rising user quantities – the Universitätsbibliothek München with its 831,000 volumes was regarded by 1925 as one of the largest in Germany – after WWI led to a serious lack of space. From 1943 the allied bombings of Munich did much harm to the university library; 90% of its building substance was destroyed by spring 1945 and at least one third of its pre-war inventory had been lost.

During the post-war period, the library continued to work in several temporary locations that were distributed across the entire university's main building as well as unpractical. In 1967, a new building was erected, while the spatial expansion of the university library was achieved during the past 25 years by the decentralised foundation of large special libraries. Since the millennium, the central library managed to develop an innovative profile based on the early orientation on the potential of the electronic supply of literature and information. For the start of the winter term 1989/90, the Universitätsbibliothek München installed as the first in Bavaria a CIP-pool with c.60 networked pcs as work places for the students of six faculties. As the very first university library on the Continent, it offered its users since May 2004 selected books in electronic format and was the first German library able to present online its most valuable holdings, i.e. the cimelia, completely digitised in 2010.

Collection owned by the Universitätsbibliothek der LMU München available on bavarikon

Facebook

Kontakt

Universitätsbibliothek der LMU München
Geschwister-Scholl-Platz 1
80539 München

Telefon: +49 (0)89/2180-2429
E-Mail: information@ub.uni-muenchen.de

Karte

Links

Universitätsbibliothek der LMU München

Die Universitätsbibliothek München ist der zentrale Medien- und Informationsdienstleister der Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität. Mit einem Gesamtbestand von nahezu fünf Millionen Bänden ist es eines der größten Hochschulbibliothekssysteme in der Bundesrepublik Deutschland. Die Universitätsbibliothek München verfügt aber auch mit über 3.300 Handschriften, 3.600 Inkunabeln, mehr als 180 Nachlässen, zahlreichen Sondersammlungen und rund 475.000 alten Drucken, die zwischen 1501 und 1900 erschienen sind, über einen sehr beachtlichen historischen Buchbestand, den zweitgrößten im Freistaat Bayern.

Ihre Wurzeln als spätmittelalterliche Bibliotheksgründung liegen in Ingolstadt, wo die 1473 begründete Bibliothek über drei Jahrhunderte beheimatet gewesen war, als Kurfürst Maximilian IV. Joseph die Universität 1800 nach Landshut verlegen ließ. Die Büchermassen der Säkularisation von 1802/1803 ließen die Landshuter Universitätsbibliothek – nach Göttingen und Breslau – zur drittgrößten Hochschulbibliothek in Deutschland aufrücken. 1826 siedelte die Bibliothek von Landshut in die Landeshauptstadt über. 1840 erhielt sie das 2. Stockwerk des berühmten Universitätsbaus, den Friedrich von Gärtner entworfen hatte. Die dynamische Entwicklung der UB mit ihrer kontinuierlichen Bestandsvermehrung und steigenden Benutzerzahlen – die Universitätsbibliothek München galt mit etwa 831.000 Bänden bereits 1925 als die größte Universitätsbibliothek Deutschlands – führte nach dem Ersten Weltkrieg zu einer drückenden Raumnot. Die alliierten Bombenangriffe auf München zogen seit 1943 die Universitätsbibliothek schwer in Mitleidenschaft; 90 Prozent ihrer Gebäudesubstanz lagen im Frühjahr 1945 in Schutt und Asche, gut ein Drittel ihres Vorkriegsbestandes war verloren.

Während der Nachkriegszeit arbeitete die Bibliothek in ebenso zerstreuten wie unzweckmäßigen Behelfsräumen im Universitätshauptgebäude. 1967 erfolgte die Errichtung des Neubaus. Die räumliche Erweiterung der Universitätsbibliothek vollzog sich in den letzten 25 Jahren im dezentralen Bereich durch die Gründung großer Fachbibliotheken. Der Zentralbibliothek gelang seit der Jahrtausendwende eine zukunftsträchtige Profilbildung, die auf einer frühzeitigen Orientierung am Innovationspotential der elektronischen Literatur- und Informationsversorgung basierte. Die Universitätsbibliothek München errichtete als erste in Bayern zum Wintersemester 1989/90 einen CIP-Pool mit rund 60 vernetzten PC-Arbeitsplätzen für Studierende aus sechs Fakultäten, als erste Hochschulbibliothek in Kontinentaleuropa überhaupt bot sie ihren Benutzern seit Mai 2004 ausgewählte Bücher in elektronischer Form an und konnte als erste deutsche Bibliothek ihren wertvollsten Bestand mit den Zimelien 2010 vollständig digital zur Verfügung stellen.

Inhalte der Universitätsbibliothek der LMU München in bavarikon