Contact

Münchner Stadtmuseum
St.-Jakobs-Platz 1
80331 München

Telephone: +49 (0)89/233-22370
Fax: +49 (0)89/233-25033
E-mail: stadtmuseum@muenchen.de

Map

Links

The Münchner Stadtmuseum

History

The Münchner Stadtmuseum (Munich City Museum) opened in 1888 following an initiative of city archivist Ernst von Destouches (1843–1916). After WWII, the building soon became an exhibition centre focusing on multiple aspects of the cultural heritage. Collections of photography and film were built up and presented to the public, something which had never been done by any other German museum before. Other collections like the ones of musical Instruments and puppet theatre already existed and were transferred to the building complex.

Collections

The Münchner Stadtmuseum is Germany's largest municipal museum, not only due to its spaciousness, but also to the extent of its collections. The fields of the collections range from graphic art, posters and paintings – mostly with motives connected to Munich –, to fashion, textile and objects of ethnological interest to statuary art and artisan craftwork as well as a substantial collection of furniture, including the period of Art Nouveau. The department of music provides access to a comprehensive collection of musical instruments spanning all continents. The exhibition rooms for the collection of puppet theatre and showmanship show Munich stages and puppets from all over the world that make the cultural history of puppetry come alive. The photography collection focuses on retrospective, but also on contemporary photography. A special highlight are the African Morris dancers by Erasmus Grasser (1450–1518), which are displayed in the permanent exhibition of city history called "Typically Munich!" The exhibition tries to explore, what characterizes Munich and since when and most of all why it does so. The exhibition "National Socialism in Munich" provides information about the rise of National Socialism in Munich in its local shape. The cinema of the Film Museum offers a program of film series with daily alternating screenings.

Building

The impressive scale of the historically grown building complex of the Munich City Museum only becomes evident in the aerial view: it is a vast area of two interior courts framed by four buildings that differ a lot. The oldest building is the historic armory built in 1500 that makes the main facade of today’s museum face St.-Jakobs-Platz, but the Munich City Museum also extends to Rindermarkt with the collection complex erected by architect Gustav Gsaenger (1900–1989) towards the end of the 1950es and to Sebastiansplatz with the building erected in 1977 as a reconstruction of the medieval city stables.

Collections owned by the Münchner Stadtmuseum available on bavarikon

Exhibitions with the participation of the Münchner Stadtmuseum available on bavarikon

Facebook

Kontakt

Münchner Stadtmuseum
St.-Jakobs-Platz 1
80331 München
Telefon: +49 (0)89/233-22370
Telefax: +49 (0)89/233-25033
E-Mail: stadtmuseum@muenchen.de

Karte

Links

Münchner Stadtmuseum

Geschichte

Das Münchner Stadtmuseum entstand 1888 auf Initiative des Stadtarchivars Ernst von Destouches (1843-1916). Nach dem Zweiten Weltkrieg entwickelte sich das Haus schnell zu einem vielfältig an Kulturgeschichte interessierten Ausstellungshaus. Foto und Film wurden, damals ein absolutes Novum in deutschen Museen, gesammelt und präsentiert. Schon bestehende städtische Sammlungen, wie die der Musikinstrumente und des Puppentheaters, wurden unter einem Dach zusammengeführt.

Sammlungen

Nicht nur wegen seiner räumlichen Ausdehnung, auch dank seiner umfangreichen Sammlungen ist das Münchner Stadtmuseum das größte kommunale Museum Deutschlands. Die Sammlungsbereiche erstrecken sich von Grafik, Plakat und Gemälde mit überwiegend Münchner Themen über Mode und Textilien sowie Objekten der Volkskunde bis hin zu Plastik, Kunsthandwerk und einem bedeutenden Bestand an Möbeln u.a. aus der Zeit des Jugendstils. Zudem gibt die Abteilung Musik Einblick in den umfangreichen Bestand an Musikinstrumenten aller Kontinente. Die Ausstellungsräume der Sammlung Puppentheater und Schaustellerei veranschaulichen anhand von Münchner Bühnen und Puppen aus aller Welt die Kulturgeschichte des Puppenspiels. Die Sammlung Fotografie zeigt Retrospektiven ebenso wie zeitgenössische Fotografie. Ein besonderer Anziehungspunkt sind die berühmten Moriskentänzer von Erasmus Grasser (1450–1518), die in der Dauerausstellung zur Stadtgeschichte "Typisch München!" zu sehen sind. Die Ausstellung geht der Frage nach, was seit wann und vor allem warum typisch für München ist. Die Schau "Nationalsozialismus in München" informiert über die Entstehung und Ausprägung des Nationalsozialismus in München. Das Filmmuseum des Münchner Stadtmuseums bietet ein täglich wechselndes Kinoprogramm.

Gebäude

Die beeindruckende Größe des historisch gewachsenen Baukomplexes des Münchner Stadtmuseums ist vor allem aus der Luft erkennbar: ein weitläufiges Areal, bestehend aus zwei großen Innenhöfen und eingerahmt von vier sehr unterschiedlichen Bauteilen. Mit seinem ältesten Gebäude, dem historischen Zeughaus aus dem Jahr 1500, ist das Münchner Stadtmuseum zwar zum St.-Jakobs-Platz hin orientiert, berührt aber auch den Rindermarkt mit dem vom Architekten Gustav Gsaenger (1900-1989) Ende der 1950er-Jahre errichteten Sammlungstrakt, und den Sebastiansplatz mit dem Nachbau des mittelalterlichen Marstallgebäudes aus dem Jahre 1977.

Inhalte des Münchner Stadtmuseums in bavarikon