Contact

Staatsarchiv Augsburg
Salomon-Idler-Straße 2
86159 Augsburg

Telephone: +49 (0)821/599 63-30
Fax: +49 (0)821/599 63-333
E-mail: poststelle@staau.bayern.de

Map

Links

The Staatsarchiv Augsburg

The Staatsarchiv Augsburg (Augsburg State Archive) is the government authority for all matters related to archive studies in the administrative district of Swabia. It is the successor institution for the former Staatsarchiv Neuburg an der Donau (State Archive of Neuburg on the Danube), which was transferred into the Swabian capital in autumn of 1989. Thus its origins date back to the Duchy of Palatinate-Neuburg established in 1505, which also maintained essential parts of the archives of Bavaria-Ingolstadt and particularly of Bavaria-Landshut. After various reorganizations it was raised to the status of an archive conservatory in 1841, and in 1875/76 it was renamed "Kreisarchiv" (District Archive) together with all the other regional state archives, until in 1921 it became the Staatsarchiv Neuburg an der Donau.

The Staatsarchiv Augsburg is responsible for historical written material of the imperial district of Swabia of the old Roman-German Empire – such as the Prince-Bishopric of Augsburg, the Duke-Abbey of Kempten, the Imperial Cities of Augsburg, Dinkelsbühl, Kaufbeuren, Kempten, Lindau, Memmingen, Nördlingen and Ulm, several Imperial Knightships and Imperial Abbeys –, as well as parts of Further Austria and the subordinate offices of the Palatinate-Neuburg.

With the reforms of the Napoleonic era, the Augsburg Archive became responsible for the heritage of the Bavarian middle and lower-level authorities of the administrative district of Swabia and the preceding river districts. Furthermore it maintains the registries of the subordinate authorities of the imperial and federal civil administration and a considerable volume of written material collected by both private and official archivists.

For public use, the current terms of the general regulations for the use of the Bavarian State Archives from 16 January 1990 (GVBl p. 6) apply, which also lay down the fees that are due.

The Staatsarchiv Augsburg is subordinate to the Generaldirektion der Staatlichen Archive Bayerns (Directorate General of the Bavarian State Archives).

Collections owned by the Staatsarchiv Amberg available on bavarikon

Exhibitions of the Staatsarchiv Augsburg available on bavarikon

Facebook

Kontakt

Staatsarchiv Augsburg
Salomon-Idler-Straße 2
86159 Augsburg

Telefon: +49 (0)821/599 63-30
Fax: +49 (0)821/599 63-333
E-Mail: poststelle@staau.bayern.de

Karte

Links

Staatsarchiv Augsburg

Das Staatsarchiv Augsburg ist die staatliche Fachbehörde für alle Fragen des Archivwesens im Regierungsbezirk Schwaben. Es ist der Nachfolger des ehemaligen Staatsarchivs Neuburg a.d. Donau, das im Herbst 1989 in die Regierungshauptstadt von Schwaben verlegt worden ist. Seine Ursprünge reichen damit bis zum 1505 errichteten Archiv des Fürstentums Pfalz-Neuburg zurück, das auch wesentliche Teile der Archive von Bayern-Ingolstadt und vor allem von Bayern-Landshut verwahrte. Nach zahlreichen Umorganisationen wurde es 1841 zum Archivkonservatorium erhoben und 1875/76 wie alle regionalen bayerischen staatlichen Archive in "Kreisarchiv" und 1921 in "Staatsarchiv Neuburg a.d. Donau" umbenannt.

Die Zuständigkeit des Staatsarchivs Augsburg für historisches Schriftgut aus der Zeit des Alten Reichs erstreckt sich auf die Territorien des Schwäbischen Reichskreises – u.a. das Hochstift Augsburg, das Fürststift Kempten, die Reichsstädte Augsburg, Dinkelsbühl, Kaufbeuren, Kempten, Lindau, Memmingen, Nördlingen und Ulm, verschiedene reichsritterschaftliche Herrschaften und Reichsstifte –, auf einen Teil der österreichischen Vorlande sowie die nachgeordneten pfalz-neuburgischen Ämter.

Seit der napoleonischen Umbruchszeit ist das Archiv für die Überlieferung der bayerischen Mittel- und Unterbehörden in den Grenzen des Regierungsbezirks Schwaben und der ihm vorangegangenen Flusskreise zuständig. Hinzu kommen Unterlagen nachgeordneter Stellen der zivilen Reichs- und Bundesverwaltung sowie zahlreiches Schriftgut privater und weiterer öffentlich-rechtlicher Archivbildner.

Die Benützung richtet sich nach der Benützungsordnung für die staatlichen Archive Bayerns vom 16.1.1990 (GVBl S. 6), in der auch die Benützungsgebühren geregelt sind.

Das Staatsarchiv Augsburg untersteht der Generaldirektion der Staatlichen Archive Bayerns.