Facebook

Contact

Bayerisches Hauptstaatsarchiv München
Schönfeldstraße 5-11
80539 München

Postal Address:
P.O. Box 22 11 52
80501 München

Telephone: +49 (0)89/28638-2596
Fax: +49 (0)89/28638-2954
E-mail: poststelle@bayhsta.bayern.de

Map

Links

The Bayerisches Hauptstaatsarchiv

The Bayerisches Hauptstaatsarchiv (Bavarian Main State Archive) was formed in 1921 by merging three key archives which had been founded in Munich in 1799 - namely the Allgemeines Reichsarchiv (General Imperial Archive), the Geheimes Staatsarchiv (Secret State Archive), and the Secret Family Archive (Geheimes Hausarchiv) - and the former Kreisarchiv (District Archive of Munich), today’s Staatsarchiv München (Munich State Archive). After the end of WWII the records of the Kriegsarchiv (War Archive) maintaining the heritage of the Bavarian army were affiliated to the Bayerische Hauptstaatsarchiv.

The administrative decree on the structure of State Archives in Bavaria issued on 28 May 1990 (GVBl, p. 175) states that the Bayerische Hauptstaatsarchiv is responsible for "maintaining the records of state authorities concerned with state wide affairs." The Bayerische Hauptstaatsarchiv being the centralized archive for the Duchy, Electorate, Kingdom, and Free State of Bavaria, it is specifically responsible for maintaining:

  1. Records of the former central archives and state authorities of the Electorate of Bavaria and the Duchy of Palatinate-Neuburg; the heritage of the Electoral Palatinate and the Palatinate-Zweibrücken, as far as it remained in Bavarian possession; the archives of clerical and secular institutions of the Bavarian Circle (excluding the Upper Palatinate) the Bavarian state took over in the course of secularization and mediatization in the early 19th century. (Department I, Older Records)
  2. Records of Bavarian state ministries and other authorities responsible for the complete state territory after 1800. (Department II, More Recent Records)
  3. Mixed records segmented in thematic subdivisions and mainly inherited from central authorities of the Electorate and Kingdom of Bavaria on the history of the Wittelsbach dynasty and records donated by members of the Wittelsbach family themselves. (Department III, Secret Family Archive)
  4. Records of the former Bavarian army from the 17th century up to 1919. (Department IV, War Archive)
  5. Records of statutory corporations, institutions and foundations without an own repository and complementary non-state records for public records, such as political bequests, association records and collections of posters, pamphlets, prints and the like (Department V, Bequests and Collections).

According to the 1990 structure decree, the Bayerische Hauptstaatsarchiv is furthermore responsible for important technical issues. At present these comprise the practical execution of a comprehensive repography including the creation of backup copies on microfilm for record protection and preservation as well as record conservation and restoration.

The Bayerische Hauptstaatsarchiv is subordinate to the Generaldirektion der Staatlichen Archive Bayerns (Directorate General of the Bavarian State Archives).

Exhibitions of the Bayerisches Hauptstaatsarchiv available on bavarikon

Facebook

Kontakt

Bayerisches Hauptstaatsarchiv München
Schönfeldstraße 5-11
80539 München

Postanschrift:
Postfach 22 11 52
80501 München

Telefon: +49 (0)89/28638-2596
Fax: +49 (0)89/28638-2954
E-Mail: poststelle@bayhsta.bayern.de

Karte

Links

Bayerisches Hauptstaatsarchiv

Das Bayerische Hauptstaatsarchiv entstand 1921 durch den Zusammenschluss der drei 1799 in München eingerichteten Zentralarchive, des Allgemeinen Reichsarchivs, des Geheimen Staatsarchivs, des Geheimen Hausarchivs sowie des damaligen Kreisarchivs München (heute Staatsarchiv München). Nach dem Ende des Zweiten Weltkriegs wurde das Kriegsarchiv für die Überlieferung der bayerischen Armee dem Bayerischen Hauptstaatsarchiv eingegliedert.

Nach der Verordnung über die Gliederung der Staatlichen Archive Bayerns vom 28. Mai 1990 (GVBl S. 175) obliegt dem Bayerischen Hauptstaatsarchiv "die Archivierung des Archivguts der staatlichen Stellen, die für das gesamte Staatsgebiet zuständig sind". Im Einzelnen ist es als Zentralarchiv für das Herzogtum, Kurfürstentum, Königreich und den Freistaat Bayern zuständig für:

  1. die ehemaligen kurbayerischen und pfalz-neuburgischen Zentralarchive und Zentralbehörden, die bei Bayern verbliebene kurpfälzische und pfalz-zweibrückische Überlieferung, die Archive der im Rahmen der Säkularisation und Mediatisierung zu Beginn des 19. Jahrhunderts an Bayern gefallenen geistlichen und weltlichen Institutionen des Bayerischen Reichskreises (ohne Oberpfalz) (Abteilung I Ältere Bestände),
  2. die bayerischen Staatsministerien und sonstigen für ganz Bayern zuständigen Landesbehörden seit ca. 1800 (Abteilung II Neuere Bestände),
  3. nach Sachpertinenz gebildete Mischbestände überwiegend kurpfalzbayerischer und königlich-bayerischer zentralbehördlicher Provenienzen zur Geschichte des Hauses Wittelsbach sowie das von Mitgliedern des kgl. Hauses übergebene Schriftgut (Abteilung III Geheimes Hausarchiv),
  4. das Archivgut der ehemaligen bayerischen Armee vom 17. Jahrhundert bis 1919 (Abteilung IV Kriegsarchiv) und
  5. das Schriftgut der nicht selbst archivierenden, unter Aufsicht des Staates stehenden Körperschaften, Anstalten und Stiftungen des öffentlichen Rechts sowie nichtstaatliches Archivgut zur Ergänzung der Behördenakten, nämlich politische Nachlässe, Verbandsschriftgut und Sammlungsgut wie Plakate, Flugblätter, Druckschriften etc. (Abteilung V Nachlässe und Sammlungen).

Nach der Gliederungsverordnung von 1990 obliegen dem Bayerischen Hauptstaatsarchiv weiterhin zentrale fachliche Aufgaben: Diese bestehen zurzeit in der praktischen Durchführung der Reprographie einschließlich der Sicherungs- und Schutzverfilmung sowie der Restaurierung und Konservierung.

Das Bayerische Hauptstaatsarchiv untersteht der Generaldirektion der Staatlichen Archive Bayerns.