Nibelungenlied-Handschriften aus der Bayerischen Staatsbibliothek About the Object

Description

The Nibelungenlied (Song of the Nibelung) was composed in ca. 1200 by an anonymous poet in Passau based on older legends and is one of the great literary achievements in the world. With the manuscripts A (Cgm 34) and D (Cgm 31) the Bayerische Staatsbibliothek (Bavarian State Library) owns two of the most important textual testimonials of the epic. Since July 2009, manuscript A has been listed among the world documentary heritage of UNESCO’s “Memory of the World”.

The Song of the Nibelung

Based on (often only locally important) people and events of the great migration period that can to a large extent no longer be identified, a whole series of legendary cycles were formed during the Middle Ages through oral traditions, embellishments and by piecing together previously unconnected narratives. Stories surrounding the hero Siegfried and the kings Attila and Theodoric the Great as well as about the fall of the Burgundians are part of this cycle.

Based on this rich, today hardly reconstructable oral tradition, in ca. 1200 an anonymous author created the Song of the Nibelung as it is known to us today. Scholarship mostly considers the Passau court of Bishop Wolfger von Erla (ca. 1140 – 1218) as the place of creation because of considerations in language and content. In 39 aventures (“adventures” = chapters) and ca. 2,400 stanzas, life and death of the hero Siegfried as well as Kriemhild’s vengeance on the Burgundians are extolled.

As a stand-alone text after the Song of the Nibelung in nearly all manuscripts preserved follows the lament, in which more than 4,000 verses tell the story after the fall of the Burgundians and interpret it in a Christian key.

With 35 manuscripts and fragments, the Song of the Nibelung belongs to the best-preserved texts of the Germanophone middle ages – a proof of its great popularity. Even after the end of the mediaeval period, knowledge of this material never entirely disappeared – as the song of the giant Seyfried, as a theatre play by Hans Sachs or finally as a book of folk tales, it continued to enjoy a certain popularity.

After the discovery of the manuscript C of the Song of the Nibelung in the castle library of Hohenems by Jacob Hermann Obereit (1755) started the rediscovery of the mediaeval epic. The first printed edition by Christoph Heinrich Myller as part of a larger collection (1782) as well as the first scholarly edition by Karl Lachmann (1826/1878) and the widely disseminated translation by Karl Simrock (1827) led to a continuous engagement with the Song of the Nibelung. Nonetheless, until 1945, its continuing popularity was often enough influenced by a one-sided nationalist interpretation.

UNESCO world documentary heritage: “Memory of the World”

Because of its importance as an extraordinary example of mediaeval epic, UNESCO included the Song of the Nibelung in July 2009 among the list of works registered under “Memory of the World”. For this inclusion, the three most important textual testimonials were selected:

Manuscript A (Bayerische Staatsbibliothek, Cgm 34)

Manuscript B (Stiftsbibliothek St. Gallen, Cod. Sang. 857)

Manuscript C (Badische Landesbibliothek Karlsruhe, Cod. K 2037).

Works in this selection

Das Nibelungenlied und die Klage (Leithandschrift A) - BSB Cgm 34

vor 1280
  • [S.l.]

Das Nibelungenlied und die Klage, Handschrift D (sog. Prunner Codex) - BSB Cgm 31

14. Jh.
  • [S.l.]

Facebook

Nibelungenlied-Handschriften aus der Bayerischen Staatsbibliothek

Über das Objekt
  • http://bavarikon.de/object/BSB-ANG-0000HSS000SLG001
  • Nibelungenlied-Handschriften aus der Bayerischen Staatsbibliothek
  • Bayerische Staatsbibliothek
  • Bayerische Staatsbibliothek
  • CC0
  • 2015-01-20

Beschreibung

Das Nibelungenlied wurde um 1200 von einem anonymen Dichter in Passau auf Grundlage älterer Sagenstoffe verfasst und gehört zu den großen Leistungen der Weltliteratur. Mit den Handschriften A (Cgm 34) und D (Cgm 31) besitzt die Bayerische Staatsbibliothek zwei der wichtigsten Textzeugen des Epos. Die Handschrift A ist seit Juli 2009 Teil des Weltdokumentenerbes der UNESCO „Memory of the World“.

Das Nibelungenlied

Basierend auf (oft nur lokal bedeutsamen) Personen und Ereignissen der Völkerwanderungszeit, die heute zum großen Teil nicht mehr eindeutig identifiziert werden können, bildete sich im Verlauf des Mittelalters durch mündliche Überlieferung, Ausschmückung und Verknüpfung vorher unzugehöriger Stoffe eine ganze Reihe von Sagenzyklen, zu denen auch Geschichten um den Helden Siegfried, die Könige Etzel (Attila) und Dietrich von Bern (Theoderich der Große), sowie den Untergang der Burgunden gehörten.

Auf Grundlage dieser reichen, heute kaum noch rekonstruierbaren mündlichen Überlieferung entstand um 1200 durch einen anonymen Autor das heute uns bekannte Nibelungenlied. Der Passauer Hof des Bischofs Wolfger von Erla (um 1140 – 1218) wird in der Forschung aufgrund sprachlicher und inhaltlicher Überlegungen überwiegend als Entstehungsort angesehen. In 39 Aventiuren („Abenteuern“ = Kapiteln) und rund 2400 Strophen werden Leben und Tod des Helden Siegfrieds sowie Kriemhilds Rache an den Burgunden besungen.

Als eigenständiger Text folgt dem Nibelungenlied in fast allen überlieferten Handschriften die Klage, in der auf über 4000 Versen die Nachgeschichte des Untergangs der Burgunden erzählt und christlich gedeutet wird.

Mit 35 Handschriften und Fragmenten gehört das Nibelungenlied zu den am besten überlieferten Texten des deutschsprachigen Mittelalters – ein Beweis für seine große Popularität. Auch nach dem Ende des Mittelalters verschwand die Kenntnis des Stoffes nie völlig – als Lied vom hürnen Seyfried, als Bühnenwerk von Hans Sachs oder zuletzt als Volksbuch erfreute es sich stets gewisser Beliebtheit.

Nach der Auffindung der Handschrift C des Nibelungenliedes in der Schlossbibliothek von Hohenems durch Jacob Hermann Obereit (1755) beginnt die Wiederentdeckung des mittelalterlichen Epos. Vom ersten Druck durch Christoph Heinrich Myller im Rahmen einer größeren Sammlung (1782) über die erste wissenschaftliche Edition von Karl Lachmann (1826/1878) und die weit verbreitete Übertragung durch Karl Simrock (1827) führt bis heute die kontinuierliche Beschäftigung mit dem Nibelungenlied und seine anhaltende Popularität, die freilich bis 1945 oft genug von einseitiger nationalistischer Deutung geprägt war.

Weltdokumentenerbe der UNESCO: „Memory of the World“

Aufgrund seiner Bedeutung als herausragendes Beispiel mittelalterlicher Epik hat die UNESCO das Nibelungenlied im Juli 2009 in das Register des „Memory of the World“ aufgenommen. Dafür wurden die drei wichtigsten Textzeugen ausgewählt:

Handschrift A (Bayerische Staatsbibliothek, Cgm 34)

Handschrift B (Stiftsbibliothek St. Gallen, Cod. Sang. 857)

Handschrift C (Badische Landesbibliothek Karlsruhe, Cod. K 2037).

Werke in diesem Angebot

Das Nibelungenlied und die Klage (Leithandschrift A) - BSB Cgm 34

vor 1280
  • [S.l.]

˜Dasœ Nibelungenlied und die Klage, Handschrift D (sog. Prunner Codex) - BSB Cgm 31

14. Jh.
  • [S.l.]