Berthold Furtmeyr: Salzburger Missale About the Object

Description

The “Salzburg Missal” was created between the years 1478 and 1489 is certainly the most important work by Berthold Furtmeyr. The five-volume manuscript was originally produced for Prince Archbishop Bernhard von Rohr (1421-1487) and comprises, as a full missal, 22 texts of the mass, which follow the calendar of feasts of the Salzburg bishopric. The multi-volume work includes altogether 680 parchment sheets (ca. 38 x 27 cm). The layout is in a single column. The miniature and full-page images are executed in opaque watercolour with gilding; in some cases, silver is added. At the beginning of each mass and at the start of the Eucharistic Prayer is a full-page miniature.

Apart from the rich illustrations of the manuscript, the eye of the beholder is struck by the luxuriance of the scroll motifs half way between a naturalistic depiction and a fantastic approach to the surreal.

Up to 1801, the manuscript was part of the archiepiscopal library in Salzburg. During the French occupation of Salzburg, the missal may have been part of looted books taken to the Bibliothèque Nationale in Paris. Each volume bears the red stamp of the French National Library. After Salzburg had become part of Bavaria in 1810, the Bavarian government sought the restitution of the manuscript from 1814. The missal was handed back on 29 September 1815 and remained in Munich even after Salzburg’s transition to Austria.

The missal, which displays a high degree of representational value, emphasising the identity of the archbishops of Salzburg as "Primas Germaniae", was used during the celebrations of Pontifical High Masses. Changes of or additions to the rite were noted down on small pieces of paper glued to the missal. The use of the missal over the course of a longer period, possibly into the seventeenth century, can be assumed.

Wolfgang Neiser, Ratisbon.

Works presented in this section

Salzburger Missale (Bd. 1) - BSB Clm 15708

15. Jh.
  • [S.l.]

Salzburger Missale (Bd. 2) - BSB Clm 15709

15. Jh.
  • [S.l.]

Salzburger Missale (Bd. 3) - BSB Clm 15710

15. Jh.
  • [S.l.]

Salzburger Missale (Bd. 4) - BSB Clm 15711

15. Jh.
  • [S.l.]

Salzburger Missale (Bd. 5) - BSB Clm 15712

15. Jh.
  • [S.l.]

Facebook

Berthold Furtmeyr: Salzburger Missale

Über das Objekt
  • http://bavarikon.de/object/BSB-ANG-0000HSS000MWK002
  • Berthold Furtmeyr: Salzburger Missale
  • Bayerische Staatsbibliothek
  • Bayerische Staatsbibliothek
  • CC0
  • 2013-03-12

Beschreibung

Das in den Jahren 1478 bis 1489 entstandene „Salzburger Missale“ ist sicherlich das bedeutendste Werk Berthold Furtmeyrs. Die auf fünf Bände angelegte und zunächst für Fürsterzbischof Bernhard von Rohr (1421 – 1487) angefertigte Handschrift umfasst als Vollmissale 22 Messetexte, die dem Festkalender des Bistums Salzburg folgen. Insgesamt zählt das mehrbändige Werk 680 Pergamentblätter (ca. 38 x 27 cm). Der Schriftspiegel ist einspaltig. Die Miniaturen und Vollbilder sind in Deckfarbenmalerei mit Blattgold, an manchen Stellen auch mit Silberauflage ausgeführt. Zu Beginn der Messe und zu Beginn des Hochgebetes befindet sich eine ganzseitige Miniatur (Vollbild).

Neben der reichen Bebilderung der Handschrift sticht dem Betrachter die Üppigkeit der Rankenmotive, die sich zwischen naturalistischer Darstellung und einer phantastischen Annäherung an das Surreale auszeichnen, ins Auge.

Die Handschrift war bis 1801 Teil der Erzbischöflichen Bibliothek in Salzburg. Das Missale dürfte während der französischen Besatzung Salzburgs zum beschlagnahmten Bestand an Büchern gehört haben, der in die Bibliothéque Nationale in Paris gelangten. Jeder Band trägt den roten Stempel der französischen Nationalbibliothek. Nachdem Salzburg im Jahr 1810 zu Bayern kam, bemühte sich die bayerische Regierung 1814 um die Handschrift. Diese wurde am 29. September 1815 übergeben. Die Handschrift blieb auch nach dem Übergang Salzburgs zu Österreich in München.

Das Missale, das einen hohen Grad an Repräsentation und Betonung des Selbstverständnisses der Erzbischöfe von Salzburg als „Primas Germaniae“ aufweist, wurde bei der Feier der Pontifikalmessen verwendet. Veränderungen oder Ergänzungen des Ritus wurden auf kleinen eingeklebten Zetteln vermerkt. Ein Gebrauch des Messbuches über einen längeren Zeitraum, wahrscheinlich bis ins 17. Jahrhundert, ist anzunehmen.

Wolfgang Neiser, Regensburg.

Werke in diesem Angebot

Salzburger Missale (Bd. 1) - BSB Clm 15708

1401 - 1500
  • [S.l.]

Salzburger Missale (Bd. 2) - BSB Clm 15709

1401 - 1500
  • [S.l.]

Salzburger Missale (Bd. 3) - BSB Clm 15710

1401 - 1500
  • [S.l.]

Salzburger Missale (Bd. 4) - BSB Clm 15711

1401 - 1500
  • [S.l.]

Salzburger Missale (Bd. 5) - BSB Clm 15712

1401 - 1500
  • [S.l.]